2018 Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championships

The Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association and Wheelchair Sports Alberta are delighted to announce that the 2018 Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championship will be held at the Shane Homes YMCA in Calgary, Alberta from May 25th to 27th. The event was last held in the Stampede City in 2013.

“Calgary is a fantastic city and our hosting partner, Wheelchair Sports Alberta, has a well-earned reputation of delivering quality, athlete-centered events,” said CWSA CEO Catherine Cadieux. 

The Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championship is the culmination of the Canadian Wheelchair Rugby season and brings together the best athletes from across the country to compete for the chance to be crowned National Champion.

Teams will compete in two divisions based upon rankings determined by the Seeding Committee.  Top ranked teams will compete for the Campbell Cup in Division 1 with lower ranked teams vying for the Zbieranowski Cup in Division 2.

“Wheelchair Sports Alberta is excited to welcome Canada's best athletes to Alberta and to Calgary. Please come to the Shane Homes YMCA for the event and cheer on these incredible athletes” said WSA Executive Director Jen Sales.

Team Ontario dominated in 2017, coming out on top in both divisions. A repeat of this result will be challenging in 2018, as the level of competition throughout Canada continues to increase each year.

Host Team Alberta, with the home crowd behind them, will challenge the opposition, as will Team Quebec, following the return from injury of veteran 1.5, Patrice Simard. British Columbia, winners of the Campbell Cup in 2015, will also look to field a strong team, as they will be eager to improve upon last year’s fourth-place finish.


Shane Homes YMCA
11300 Rocky Ridge Rd. NW,
Calgary, AB
T3G 5H3


Division 1 and Division 2 rosters can be found HERE


To download a printable PDF version of this program, CLICK HERE

Please note that this calendar is subject to change.