2017 IWRF Americas Championship

Wheelchair Rugby Canada is proud to announce its roster for the upcoming 2017 IWRF America Championship in Asunción, Paraguay. The championship will take place from September 5th to 9th.  

“It’s been impressive watching progress throughout the year, and we (coaching staff) feel we have selected a solid mix of players that will help us go through a challenging tournament schedule in Paraguay” said Head Coach Patrick Côté.

Veterans Cody Caldwell, Patrice Dagenais, Trevor Hirschfield, Fabien Lavoie, Travis Murao and Mike Whitehead are the returning members of Canada’s gold medal winning team in 2015.

The six players making their IWRF America Championship debut are Kristen Cameron, Anthony Letourneau, Branden Troutman, Shayne Smith, Matt Debly and Eric Rodrigues.  

Canada will play a round-robin of 6 games against the United States (2), Colombia (18), Brazil (19), Argentina (20), Chile (24) and hosts, Paraguay (unranked). The top four teams following the round-robin will qualify for the semi-final elimination round; 1st Place vs. 4th Place and 2nd Place vs. 3rd Place. Semi-final winners will not only meet in the final, but also qualify automatically for next year's World Championship in Sydney, Australia. 

 “Our goal in Asunción is straight forward. It’s to earn one of the two tickets for the World Championship in Sydney, next summer” said Patrick Côté.

In past editions of the IWRF America Championships, Canada finished 1st in 2015 (Toronto Parapan Am Games) and 2nd in 2013, 2011 and 2009.

Canada's schedule for round-robin play is the following:

DATE TIME HOME SCORE AWAY
5/09/2017 12:15 ET
09:15 PT
CANADA 64 - 25 Chile
5/09/2017 17:30 ET
14:30 PT
Paraguay 18 - 65 CANADA
6/09/2017 10:45 ET
07:45 PT
CANADA 58 - 41 Columbia
6/09/2017 14:15 ET
11:15 PT
CANADA 50 - 45 Brazil
7/09/2017 12:30 ET
09:30 PT
United States 58 - 27 CANADA
7/09/2017 17:45 ET
14:45 PT
Argentina 40 - 69 CANADA
8/09/2017 14:15 ET
11:15 PT
CANADA 59 - 46 3RD Place
9/09/2017 17:45 ET
14:45 PT
USA 54 - 43 CANADA

WATCH LIVE

Next Match - GOLD Medal Match
Canada vs. USA
17:45 ET // 14:45 PT