Canada Undefeated After Second Day of 2013 IWRF Americas Zone Qualification Tournament

(Birmingham, Alabama) – Team Canada retained its perfect record today after winning twice at the 2013 IWRF Americas Zone Qualification Tournament in Birmingham, Alabama. The team now sits at 3-0 as they head into their final round-robin game against the number-one-ranked USA. The top two teams will represent the Americas Zone at the 2014 IWRF World Wheelchair Rugby Championships.

Canada first faced off against Argentina, defeating them 82-11. Newcomers Byron Green and Cody Caldwell got significant minutes, as did Miranda Biletski, the lone female athlete in the tournament. Next, Canada won 76-13 against Colombia. Though the speedy Cristian Eduardo Torres provided the Colombians with agility and quickness, the Canadians played a well-rounded team game to neutralize him.

After the game, Head Coach Kevin Orr praised both opponents.

“Though the scores were lopsided, both teams battled hard,” he said. “This was a great opportunity for our athletes, especially our new athletes, to try out new roles and expand their skill set. Our rookies got a lot of quality minutes on an international stage today and some of our veterans were forced into leadership positions, which will be important to their development.”

Canada will face off against the USA at 11 am local time (9 am PST, noon EST) in the final round-robin match of the tournament. They will then play a semi-final game at 3:30 pm (1:30 pm PST, 4:30 pm EST).