Canada Defeats Brazil In First Game of the 2013 IWRF Americas Zone Qualification Tournament

(Birmingham, AL) – Team Canada defeated Brazil 79-31 in the first game of the 2013 IWRF Americas Zone Qualification Tournament and is one step closer to qualifying for the 2014 IWRF World Wheelchair Rugby Championships. The top two teams will win spots at next year’s World Championships in Odense, Denmark.

Canada jumped out to an early 12-4 lead and never let up on the Brazilian team, which is coached by former Canadian Assistant Coach Benoit Labreque. Despite the efforts of Brazillian star Alexandre Taniguchi, the Canadians were able to smother the Brazilians on defense, causing turnovers and widening the lead.

“I thought our team did a great job of sticking to the game plan and executing it,” said Head Coach Kevin Orr. “Everyone played and everyone contributed. It was a team effort.”

Tomorrow, Canada will play Argentina at 11 am (9 am PST, noon EST) and Colombia at 3 pm (1 pm PST, 4 pm EST). Both games may be webcast at www.iwrf.com. Regular updates will be available on the Wheelchair Rugby Canada Facebook page and Twitter feed.

To see more photos from today’s match, click here.