Wheelchair Rugby Canada Announces Team for 2013 Americas Zone Qualification Tournament

Wheelchair Rugby Canada is pleased to announce the athletes and staff who will be representing Canada at the 2013 Wheelchair Rugby Americas Zone Qualification Tournament in Birmingham, Alabama from Oct. 14th to 20th. Canada will attempt to claim one of two spots at the 2014 Wheelchair Rugby World Championships, which will be held in Denmark next year.

“I think we’ve struck a great balance with the team we’ve selected,” said Head Coach Kevin Orr. “Our new athletes bring a lot of energy and passion to the squad, and we’ve got our seasoned veterans anchoring the team.”

The squad consists of:

Miranda Biletski (Regina, SK)
Cody Caldwell (Cavan, ON)
Ian Chan (Richmond, BC)
Patrice Dagenais (Embrun, ON)
Byron Green (Vancouver, BC)
Garett Hickling (London, ON)
Trevor Hirschfield (Parksville, BC)
Fabien Lavoie (Quebec City, QC)
Zak Madell (Okotoks, AB)
Travis Murao (Richmond, BC)
Patrice Simard (Alma, QC)
David Willsie (London, ON)


Head Coach Kevin Orr

Patrick Cote
Ryan Doyle
Bobby Hirschfield
Melissa Lacroix
Marnie McRoberts
Bruce Pinel
Andy Van Neutegem
Nancy Wong
Cathy Cadieux

In addition to facing off against teams from Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, and Colombia, Canada will complete against Team USA for the first time since upsetting them in an intense semi-final match at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

For more information, please contact:

Arley McNeney
Communications Manager
Cell: 778-788-9091
Email: arley@cwsa.ca