BC A, Quebec, BC B and Alberta B Undefeated After Day 1 of the 2015 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championships

We saw a great day of wheelchair rugby at the 2015 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championships. This year’s nationals are taking place at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon and we couldn’t ask for a better host organization (Saskatchewan Wheelchair Sports Association) or venue.

In Division 1, the Ontario Thunder was dealt its first stumbling block in its quest to win a fifth straight national title. The Thunder fell narrowly to BC in an exciting, see-saw game. Quebec also remained undefeated with wins over Alberta and the Ontario Lightning.

Division 2 saw our first overtime match. The Alberta Bighorns rallied from behind to force overtime against the Ontario Storm, then go on to claim the 46-45 victory. BC B bested Alberta and Saskatchewan to remain undefeated.

Tomorrow, we’ll see the much-anticipated BC-Quebec showdown and quarter-final and semi-final action in Division 2.

To see the scores, the schedule and rosters, click here.

For up-to-the-minute updates, follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.