Ontario Thunder Win the 2013 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby National Championships

The Ontario Thunder successfully defended their title to be named the 2013 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby National Champions for the second time in a row. The Thunder continued their undefeated streak by beating the Quebec Impact 54-43 during Sunday’s gold medal match.

BC A narrowly claimed the bronze medal with a 47-45 victory over Alberta in a game that was tied until the last minute. In Division Two, Saskatchewan won the gold medal 52-43 over Manitoba. New Brunswick beat BC – B to win the bronze.

This year’s All Stars are:

0.5 – Jared Funk (Manitoba)
1.0 – Patrice Dagenais (Ontario Thunder)
1.5 - Patrice Simard (Quebec Impact)
2.0 – Cody Caldwell (Ontario Thunder)
2.5 – Joe Boudreau (Ontario Lightning)
3.0 – Mike Whitehead (Ontario Thunder)
3.5 – Zak Madell (Alberta Roughnecks)

The MVP award was given to Zak Madell (Alberta Roughnecks). Saskatchewan’s Cory Harrower won the Division Two MVP. Alberta B’s Evan Shaw was awarded the Judith Zelman Memorial Award for Best Rookie and will receive a new rugby wheelchair from 49 Bespoke.

For final scores and rosters, please visit http://cwsa.ca/2013-coloplast-canadian-wheelchair-rugby-national-champio...