Two Canadian Teams To Compete in 2013 Metro Cup in Warsaw, Poland

(Warsaw, Poland) -- Two Canadian wheelchair rugby teams will compete in the 2013 Wheelchair Rugby Metro Cup in Warsaw, Poland from June 26th to 30th. Canada Red and Canada Black will face off against teams from Great Britain, Poland, Germany, Brazil and the Czech Republic.  Canada will send a mix of developmental athletes and athletes from the senior team.

“This is a great opportunity for our up-and-coming athletes to get a taste of international competitions in a venue where they can have success and for our senior athletes to play new roles,” said Head Coach Kevin Orr.

Competing for Canada will be:

Team Canada Red:

Byron Green (Vancouver, BC)
Miranda Biletski (Regina, SK)
Patrice Dagenais (Embrun, ON)
Ben Perkins (North Augusta, ON)
Cody Caldwell (Cavan, ON)
Fabien Lavoie (Quebec, QC)

Team Canada Black

Trevor Hirschfield (Parksville, BC)
Yanick Racicot (Salaberry de Valleyfield, QC)
Patrice Simard (Quebec, QC)
Ian Crowe (Kenora, ON)
Joe Boudreau (Hamilton, ON)
Cory Harrower (Regina, SK)

According to Orr, this tournament will help to build a stronger Canadian team.

“Many of these up-and-coming athletes are hopefuls for the 2016 Rio Paralympics,” he said. “If we want to win that gold three years from now, we need to give our future stars quality opportunities today.”

All games will be webcast at www.metrocup.sson.pl. Canada will play:

Friday June 28th

2pm – 3:30 pm: Canada Red vs. Great Britain B (10 pm PST, 1 am June 29th EST)
3:30 – 5:00 pm: Great Britain A vs. Canada Black (11:30 pm PST, 2:30 am EST)
5:00 – 6:30 pm: Canada Red vs. Germany (1 am PST, 4 am EST)
6:30 – 8:00 pm: Canada Black vs. Brazil (2:30 am PST, 5:30 am EST)

Saturday, June 29th

9:00 – 10:30 am: Canada Red vs. Czech Republic (5 pm PST, 8 pm EST)
10:30 – noon: Poland vs. Canada B (6:30 pm PST, 9:30 pm EST)