BC Sweeps Both Divisions At the 2015 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championships

(Saskatoon, SK) – Team BC swept both divisions at the 2015 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championships today at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon. BC A ended the Ontario Thunder’s four-year winning streak by beating them 60-58. In Division 2, BC B defeated the Alberta Bighorns 48-46 in another close game.

“All of the games today were very close,” said Saskatchewan Wheelchair Sports Association Executive Director Andrea Muir. “I think we showcased how exciting wheelchair rugby can be.”

In the Division 1 bronze medal game, Quebec narrowly beat Alberta 56-54. Team Saskatchewan’s home court advantage powered them to Division 2 bronze.

Several Saskatchewan athletes won awards at the event’s awards banquet. John Loeppky (Regina, SK) won the Judith Zelman Rookie of The Year Award. John represented Saskatchewan at the 2015 Canada Winter Games in wheelchair basketball this February, and has recently made the switch to wheelchair rugby. Miranda Biletski (Regina, SK) was named Division 2 MVP and was also named to the All Star team.

Congratulations to:

Division 1

MVP: Zak Madell
Best 0.5: Martin Duif
Best 1.0: Trevor Hirschfield
Best 1.5: Patrice Simard
Best 2.0: Ben Perkins
Best 2.5: Dale Nording
Best 3.0: Fabien Lavoie
Best 3.5 Zak Madell

Division 2

MVP: Miranda Biletski
Best 0.5: Jared Funk
Best 1.0: Miranda Biletski
Best 1.5: Kendall Winters
Best 2.0: Ken Hicks
Best 2.5: Nathan Bragg
Best 3.0: Rod Bitz
Best 3.5: Reid Mulligan