Canada Will Play for Bronze at the 2013 Denmark Wheelchair Rugby Challenge

Though Team Canada has a lot to be proud of today, they will play Great Britain for bronze tomorrow at the 2013 Denmark Wheelchair Rugby Challenge. The team beat Japan to place first in Pool B, then crossed over to play #1-ranked Australia in the semi-finals in one of the most exciting games in recent memory, where they narrowly lost 56-60.

"Today proves that we have made huge strides as a team in the seven months since the London 2012 Paralympics," said Head Coach Kevin Orr. "If we want to capture that gold, however, we're going to have to be a little bit sharper."

Team Canada started off strong today against Japan. At the half, Canada was only up 30-28 and it looked like the game might be a close one.  Luckily, however, Canada refocused and came out strong after halftime, forcing several turnovers to storm to a 62-48 victory. Canada finished first in Pool B and faced off in the semi-finals against the Australians, who had lost to the USA and were number two in the A pool.

When they last met in the gold medal match at the London 2012 Paralympics, Australia beat Canada 66-51. Team Canada, however, came out ready to prove that they had written a new chapter as a team and that the "Road to Rio" would be golden. The result was a highly entertaining display of elite wheelchair rugby full of changing leads, big hits and plenty of speed. Unfortunately, however, a few errors caused Canada to give up some turnovers in the fourth quarter. Though Canada hung in until the last moment, they couldn't mount the comeback needed to secure the victory. Canada finished the game 56-60. 

Now, Canada will refocus and play for bronze against Great Britain. The game will take place at 1 pm local time (4 am PST/ 7 am EST). The gold medal game will be between the Australians and Americans and will take place at 6 am PST/ 9 am EST.  To watch the games, click here.