Canada Bests Finland for Second Win at the 2014 World Wheelchair Rugby Championships

(Odense, Denmark) – Team Canada moved one step closer to winning gold at the 2014 World Wheelchair Rugby Championships with a 67-40 victory against Finland today.

“Every member of our team contributed to the victory,” said Head Coach Kevin Orr after the game. “We saw players like Miranda Biletski chipping in with two great goals, veterans like David Willsie stepping up, and up-and-coming athletes like Travis Murao taking on more responsibility on the court. It was an excellent learning game.”

While the Canadians handled Finland fairly easily, tomorrow offers greater challenges for the squad.  Canada plays Great Britain at 11:15 local time (02:15 am PST, 05:15 am EST) and Belgium at 17:30 local time (08:30 am PST, 11:30 am EST). At the recent 2014 Canada Cup International Wheelchair Rugby Tournament, Canada won by just one point against Great Britain, so tomorrow’s match is highly anticipated.

To schedule an interview via email or Skype, please contact Andy Van Neutegem (in Denmark) atvanneutegema@camosun.bc.ca . For more information or print-quality photos, please contact:

Arley McNeney
Marketing & Communications Manager – Wheelchair Rugby Canada
Cell: 778-788-9091
Email: arley@cwsa.ca