Ontario Thunder Win the 2016 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championship

(Montreal, QC) – The Ontario Thunder beat Team BC 53-47 to win the Campbell Cup at the 2016 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championship. This is the fifth time in six years that the Thunder has won the title. Team Alberta won the bronze medal with a 60-51 victory over Quebec.

Though BC had lost key players to injury, 16-year-old newcomer Joel Ewert (Prince George, BC) stepped up and showed amazing composure against veteran national team athletes. He played the entire game.

“Any time Team BC and the Ontario Thunder meet it’s an exciting game, but what’s really exciting is seeing all the up-and-coming talent we have across Canada,” said Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association CEO Cathy Cadieux.

In Division 2, Saskatchewan beat the Ontario Lightning to claim the Zbieranowski Cup. Alberta B came third.

Congratulations to the All Stars and MVPs:

Division 2 All Stars
0.5 Rob MacIsaac
1.0 Miranda Biletski
1.5 Erika Schmutz
2.0 Ken Hicks
2.5 Shayne Smith
3.0 Denholm Stevens
3.5 John Loeppky
MVP Cory Harrower.
Division 1 All Stars 
0.5 Kristen Cameron
1.0 Trevor Hirschfield
1.5 Patrice Simard
2.0 Travis Murao
2.5 Ian Chan
3.0 Fabien Lavoie
3.5 Zak Madell
MVP Travis Murao
Most Sportsmanlike: Courtney Keenan
Judith Zelman Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year: Rob MacIssac.

Wheelchair rugby fans will next be able to see the sport on home soil at the 2016 Canada Cup International Wheelchair Rugby Championship in Richmond, BC from June 23-26. Number-one-ranked Team Canada will take on six of the world’s best wheelchair rugby teams in the final stop before the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games.